Previous Next 1 2 3 4 5
First 5 Prime Ministers of Malaysia

Prime Minister of Malaysia

The Prime Minister of Malaysia is the indirectly elected head of government of Malaysia. He is officially appointed by the King (Yang di-Pertuan Agong), who in His Majesty's judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of that House of Representatives, the elected lower house of Parliament. He heads the Cabinet, whose members are also appointed by the King on the prime minister's advice. The Prime Minister and his Cabinet shall be collectively responsible to Parliament.

Rafflesia biggest flower in the world


Rafflesia is a genus of flowering plants that is made up of 16 known species. The best known of these species is Rafflesia arnoldii, which has the distinction of being the world's largest flower, reaching a diameter of about three feet. The Rafflesia flowers have been found only in Indonesia - on the islands of Sumatra and Java - and Malaysia, in particular in the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak. All of the known species of Rafflesia are threatened or endangered.

Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year is the most important of the traditional Chinese holidays. This goes for the Chinese population in Malaysia too where the day itself is declared a public holiday. For Chinese locals the new year means a new start where they can make new money and attract new businesses. At numerous locations in Malaysia people light fireworks during the celebrations. Chinese New Year is the only day in the year most of the shops are closed for business.

Airport Taxi at KLIA

Airport Taxi at KLIA

Though using the KLIA Express is a quicker way to reach Kuala Lumpur city center, using the airport taxi is a much easier way to reach your destination within Kuala Lumpur. KLIA Express only brings you to KL Sentral while the airport taxi drops you off right in front of your hotel. If you are traveling alone it might be too expensive compared to other options as you pay RM74.30 for a ticket. You can buy tickets for a fixed price at one of the taxi counters at Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

Matta travel fair in Malaysia

Matta Fair in Malaysia

Matta Fair (Malaysian Association of Tour and Travel Agents) is the biggest and most popular travel fair in Malaysia. Malaysians do not yet use the internet as the standard way to book their trips and holidays. Many either go to travel offices or they consult their travel agent when they want to go on a trip. Matta Fair is the place for the best bargains; and it can even be interesting for foreign travelers as there usually are great bargains to destinations outside and within Malaysia.

Malaysia politics and Malaysian political system

Parliament building of Malaysia

The politics of Malaysia is based on a federal constitutional monarchy, in which the King is head of state and the Prime Minister is the head of government. Executive power is exercised by the federal government and the 13 state governments. Federal legislative power is vested in the federal parliament and the 13 state assemblies. The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature, though the executive maintains a certain level of influence in the appointment of judges to the courts.

More pages with information about Malaysia

On this page:


King of Malaysia (Yang di-Pertuan Agong)

King of Malaysia, Mizan Zainal Abidin

The Federation of Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy. Officially the head of state is the Highest Governor or Yang di-Pertuan Agong (the king). The Malaysian kings are chosen for a 5 year term from the 9 sultans of the states of the Malaysian peninsula. The present King is Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah, successor of Mizan Zainal Abidin. On the 14th of October 2011 it was decided during a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers that the 83 year old Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah would become the next and 14th King of Malaysia. It will be the first time a Sultan is crowned King two times, as Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah was already King of Malaysia between 1970 and 1975.

The former King of Malaysia; Mizan Zainal Abidin was the 17th sultan of the Terengganu province, and with just 36 years of age he was the youngest sultan ever. Mizan Zainal Abidin is the 13th Malaysian king, and the second youngest king in the country's history. He was chosen as king at the age of 44. As almost all sultans in Malaysia, Mizan Zainal Abidin received his education abroad, and before becoming sultan he occupied several high positions at home and abroad.


All Kings of Malaysia

  • 1957 - 1960: Abdul Rahman from Negeri Sembilan
  • 1960 - 1960: Hishamuddin Alam Shah from Selangor
  • 1960 - 1965: Syed Harun Putra from Perlis
  • 1965 - 1970: Ismail Nasirrudin Shah from Terengganu
  • 1970 - 1975: Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah from Kedah
  • 1975 - 1979: Yahya Putra from Kelantan
  • 1979 - 1984: Ahmad Shah al-Mustain Billah from Pahang
  • 1984 - 1989: Mahmud Iskandar from Johor
  • 1989 - 1994: Azlan Muhibbudin Shah from Perak
  • 1994 - 1999: Ja'afar from Negeri Sembilan
  • 1999 - 2001: Salehuddin Abdul Aziz Shah from Selangor
  • 2001 - 2006: Syed Sirajuddin from Perlis
  • 2006 - 2011: Mizan Zainal Abidin from Terengganu
  • 2011 - 2016: Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah from Kedah
All the Kings of Malaysia  

Government & Prime Minister

Prime Minister of Malaysia Najib Tun Razak

The government has the Executive power. It is conducted by the premier (from 2009 and on: Najib Tun Razak, and before that, for 6 years Abdullah Ahmad Badawi). The Congress exists of two Houses: the senate (Dewan Negara) and the House of Commons (dewan Rakyat). The Malaysian constitution states that the premier has to be elected from the House of Commons, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (king) eventually picks the new prime minister.


All Prime Ministers of Malaysia

  • 1957-1970: Tunku Abdul Rahman
  • 1970-1976: Tun Abdul Razak
  • 1976-1981: Tun Hussein Onn
  • 1981-2003: Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad
  • 2003-2009: Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
  • 2009-201x: Najib Tun Razak
Office of the Prime Minister of Malaysia

The Government is composed of members from both Houses of the Congress, and accounts to them. Early 2004, the government moved to the newly build Putrajaya. All 69 members of the senate have a 6 year term of office; 36 are elected by the 13 state meetings, and 42 are appointed by the king. The representatives of the House are chosen from districts with a member by ways of general voting. The 193 members of the House of Representatives are elected for a maximum term of office of 5 years. The legislature is divided between the federal law departments and those of the state.

More pages with information about Malaysia

  • Share on Tumblr
  • submit to reddit